Nothing here is as easy or obvious as it should be. You're logged in - after all, you just posted. So the front page link labelled Publish Story / Sign Up takes you to options to publish a story. This sort of makes sense, since you don't need to sign up - you're already here, signed up.
I just tested this, after logging out. If you click Publish Story / Sign Up while not signed up, it takes you to a sign-up screen. Which also sort of makes sense.
Putting the two functions on the one link makes less sense.